Kennedy Agyapong heads new committee in Parliament


Assin Central Member of Parliament, Kennedy Agyapong, has been appointed as the new Chairman of Parliament’s Committee for Local Government and Rural Development in the latest reshuffle of Committees of Parliament.

Until his appointment, the businessman and New Patriotic Party (NPP) firebrand was the Chairman of the Communication Committee of Parliament.

He has been replaced on the Communication Committee by the MP for Suhum, Frederick Opare-Ansah.

A report of the Committee of Selection stated that the changes are part of a re-composition of the Select and Standing Committees of the House.

It said some chairpersons and members have been appointed as Ministers of State, Deputy Ministers of State, Regional Ministers as well as Deputy Regional Ministers.

“The frequent absence of such key members adversely impacts the effectiveness of the Committees,” the report said.